Introduction to the A-Z project: Si SCott and Briar Mark Artist Research

Si Scott has studied Graphic Design at College of Art and Design in Leeds followed by going onto study at Buckinghamshire Chilterns University College. From a young age, Scott was drawn to the graphic design but had no idea what it was when he was at school because there was only art and design and he discovered it once he went onto college. During his time at college he has spend most of his time in the print room producing prints and experimenting with the letterpress. Most of Scott’s work is mostly produced with hand with the exception of him using computer for coloring in as well as paint. He works with typography as there are lots of possibilities with them in his own style.

Personally I enjoyed looking at Si Scott’s typography work due to his attention to detail which includes lots of swirls and dots as well as blocks of black ink on the paper. Looking at his work I could see that he has spend his time drawing on the detail on his typography, drawing on his curves accurately and making his style look unique compared to other artists. When I had a look at Si Scott’s website and his work I have noticed that he works with the same kind of technique with his other artwork, adding in lots of symmetry and shapes along with the swirls which almost seems like his signature throughout his work along with the black and white theme with the exception of few of his artworks where he actually goes into it and adds color whether he is using paint or a computer.

I really like Si Scott’s style as I can relate to it because I enjoy making my own work really detailed but in terms of colour therefore I am more than happy to create really detailed typography with the addition of colour to make it look like my own style. When it comes to the scale that Si Scott works at it varies but looking at his work it seems that he works mainly on large scale as it is almost impossible to add in so much detail into a piece of art at a small scale. I have tried out drawing “A” in the style of this artist at a A5 size and it was really difficult to apply the detail with a pencil then going over it with a gel pen.

SONY DSC

Another typography piece that I have looked at and experimented with is the “Love” sign as again it is an interesting piece due to its typography and I have enjoyed trying out a new way of present typography.

SONY DSC

Both of the styles that I’ve experimented with are really different from each other as one is more complex than other to serve the decorative and presentation purpose. The difference between my experiments and Scott’s work is that for this project with the typography I have chosen to work on black card which means that I will be working in negative as well as adding color onto black card giving it a nice and unique effect. Going on to explore more with the style of Si Scott, I went on to draw an owl that is mainly made up of triangles and other shapes, I really like the outcome of my piece as it has allowed me to really experiment with Scott’s style without worrying that I’ll mess it up because either way it will be unique to me. I have also started a drawing of feather where I am going on to combine the typography and symmetrical styles in one as well as adding in swirls and circles.

Briar Mark is a  freelance graphic designer as well as a hand crafter based in Auckland, New Zealand. Most of her typography is hand sewn onto paper on a large scale. Her commission includes working on craft typography for apple.  Although I haven’t found much information about this artist I have enjoyed studying her work as I have studied textiles for GCSE and As Level and it interested me how she stitches into fabric on a large scale as well as the stitching technique she is using to complete her work. Here is some of the typography that Briar Mark has produced :

brmark

The lines that are formed by the stitching are very straight leaving the edge where the thread goes through the paper to make a loop and come out from the other side. In this piece of work Briar Mark is using Straight Stitch to produce her commission work for Apple. The tones and colors that she has used in this piece are very bright and light which will attract the eye of the audience but it also fits the Apple company. The texture of the typography will give the soft feel effect due to the Machine thread that being used in this piece as its made of staple (because its a natural fiber) cotton fibers.

I have enjoyed studying both of these artists as they work in a different style as Si Scott works with a pencil and paper whereas Briar Mark works with textiles on paper which makes them very interesting to look at. Looking at and comparing the work of both of these artist you could clearly say that Mark’s work is quite simple as she only uses a straight stitch unlike Scott’s work where he works with pen and pencil to produce him typography which is very complex as he uses a lot of swirls. But thinking about the techniques that both of the artists use are very time consuming as they’re not only working on large scale but they’re also paying a lot attention to the detail. Both of the artists that I have chosen to research and analyse have a similar background as their passion is graphic design and the information about them is very limited on the internet but Mark is a freelance artist whereas Scott is a professional.

Own Work In The Style Of Briar Mark:
With this piece of work I have decided to go more graphic to match Briar’s style therefore I have created the exploding firework effect where I used the seeding stitch but the starting point was always the same. By the end of that stage I had 4 of the firework effects made out of blue and pink embroidery thread in four corners of the letter ‘N’. To finish off the letter I have used back stitch to fill in every hole that was made by the laser cutter which gave it a lovely effect as when you look at it from further away it looks like an outline. I have really enjoyed working in the style of Briar because she uses textiles on a whole different level and takes her time to make her work really accurate which in the end looks beautiful.

Feedback